A Presentation On Known and Unknown Delegated Design & Extended Warranties with Matt Collins


Join Matt Collins (Fabyanske, Westra, Hart & Thomson P.A.), Paul Longsdorf (Redpath and Company, Ltd) and Bob Bowman (CSDZ) on March 8th  at the Town & Country Club located at 300 N Mississippi River Blvd, St. Paul, MN 55104 at 7:30 a.m. for a joint presentation on best practices for managing extended warranties and delegated design risks (both known and unknown).

This is the first session of a continuing series of advanced discussions on current and persistent topics in the construction industry. Benefit from the legal, accounting, credit and risk management perspectives on a variety of topics!

To register click here.

Congratulations to Mark Becker for being named a Fellow of the Construction Lawyers Society of America

Minneapolis attorney Mark R. Becker, of the law firm Fabyanske, Westra, Hart & Thomson, P.A., has been selected as a Fellow of the Construction Lawyers Society of America.  Mr. Becker is a shareholder in the firm’s nationally lauded construction law group and is a past Chair of the Construction Section of the Minnesota State Bar Association.  A 2000 graduate of the University of Iowa College of Law, Mr. Becker received his B.S. in Civil Engineering from Northwestern University in 1997.  Mr. Becker represents major developers, general contractors, design professionals, construction managers and specialty subcontractors in construction disputes and transactions.  Mr. Becker is recognized for his expertise in innovative uses of ADR procedures to precipitate early resolutions of complex disputes.

          The CLSA is an invitation-only international honorary association composed of preeminent lawyers specializing in construction law and related fields.  Fellowship is limited and selective, with lawyers being invited into Fellowship upon a proven record of excellence and accomplishment in construction law at both the trial and appellate levels.  Lawyers nominated or selected may be in any discipline in the construction law arena, including contract specialization, negotiations, litigation, arbitration, appellate and/or surety law, but who have in addition superior ethical reputations.  The CLSA seeks a high level of diversity in its selection process.  Fellows are generally at the partner or shareholder level, or are independent practitioners with recognized advanced status among their peers.  The CLSA is dedicated to promoting superior advocacy and ethical standards in construction law and fostering a scholarly and advanced exchange of ideas in all practices related to the specialty.


Fabyanske Named U.S. News-Best Lawyers “Best Law Firm” 2019

Fabyanske, Westra, Hart & Thomson, P.A. has been honored as a 2019 U.S. News-Best Lawyers “Best Law Firm” with a First Tier ranking in Minnesota in the practice areas of Litigation-Construction, Litigation-Real Estate and Real Estate Law.

Firms included in the 2019 “Best Law Firms” list are recognized for professional excellence with persistently impressive ratings from clients and peers. Achieving a tiered ranking signals a unique combination of quality law practice and breadth of legal expertise.

Congratulations to Tom Vollbrecht for being elected as a new Fellow of the American College of Construction Lawyers

On October 18th, Tom was announced as an elected Fellow by the ACCL board.

“Fellowship is extended by invitation to those who are found to have mastered the practice or the teaching of construction law and dispute resolution in the complex technical and legal fields pertaining to the built environment, whose professional careers have been marked by the highest standards of ethical conduct, scholarship, professionalism, and collegiality, and who have demonstrated a commitment to “give back” to the construction industry.”

Best Lawyers in America© Recognizes Ten Fabyanske Attorneys; Mark Becker, Charles Carpenter, Rory Duggan, Gary Eidson, Marv Fabyanske, Kyle Hart, Jesse Orman, Greg Spalj, Dean Thomson and Mark Westra

Fabyanske, Westra, Hart & Thomson, P.A. is pleased to announce the recognition of ten attorneys by U.S. News Best Lawyers©, one of the oldest and most respected peer-review publications in the legal profession. Dean Thomson was also selected by Best Lawyers as 2019 Attorney of the Year in Construction Law.


Becker_Mark_308 Mark Becker – Construction Law
Carpenter_Charlie_420 Charles Carpenter – Real Estate Law
Duggan_Rory_510 Rory Duggan – Banking and Finance Law
Eidson_Gary_037 Gary Eidson – Real Estate Law
Fabyanske_Marv_032 Marv Fabyanske – Litigation-Construction
Hart_Kyle_496 Kyle Hart – Litigation-Construction
Jesse Orman – Construction Law
Greg Spalj – Commercial Litigation
Thomson_Dean_494 Dean Thomson – Litigation-Construction, Litigation-Real Estate and Construction Law
Westra_Mark_467 Mark Westra – Banking and Finance Law and Real Estate Law